Chocolate Peanut Butter Protein Barz

Gallery

 

Chocolate PB Protein Barz

Chocolate PB Protein Barz

Finally I have a chance to post a recipe! I have been cooking and experimenting all summer and I haven’t posted a thing. I am such a slacker! But I promise that these bars are a satisfying, sweet snack that you won’t feel guilty about. Only healthy, natural, and tasty ingredients were used in the making of these bars. They are also gluten free, dairy free, low salt, and SUPER easy since they are just popped in the freezer to harden. I like to eat them at all times of the day; breakfast, pre- or post workout, or as dessert after supper with a cup of coffee! I will say that ย they are pretty addicting. I have a hard time not eating all the batter before I can get them in the pan. The only thing that stops me is the thought that if I don’t eat all the dough, then I can enjoy the bars later LOL.

These bars are packed with superfoods: Chia seeds, cacao nibs, and honey all work together to provide our bodies with extra nutrients. Chia seeds have fiber to aid with digestion, and also help to cleanse the intestinal tract. When wet, chia seeds create a gel that can pull food through the digestive tract. Cacao nibs are cocoa in its purest form. They have a very strong cocoa flavor, and also contain the antioxidants that cocoa does. Honey serves as a prebiotic to nurture our digestive system and it can be used to treat diarrhea, indigestion, and stomach ulcers!

We also cannot forget the best ingredients. Chocolate and peanut butter!!!!!! Mmmm ๐Ÿ™‚ happiness!

Now normally I am an almond butter girl. It has more nutrients than peanut butter and I like the texture better BUT on the day that I made these bars, I used peanut butter and I was happy with it. I also used PB2, which is a dehydrated peanut butter in order to keep the overall calorie amount in check. Peanut butter adds protein and healthy fats for energy and muscle growth. Oh and happiness. I really love PB and almond butter. Anyways…

The chocolate comes from the protein powder that I use. I like to use pea protein because its easy to digest and I have found a brand that is within my price range that also tastes great. Its hard to get concentrated protein in recipes sometimes, and these bars are no bake so I couldn’t add any eggs. Protein powder has become one of my staples since I work out a lot and need to nourish my muscles. I like to use it when I make smoothies and recipes alike. You could use vanilla protein powder here too, and I’m sure that would be pretty tasty!

So let’s get down to business!

104_1166

You’ll need:

2/3c GF oats

2/3c Rice Chex, GF

1/3c almond flour

1/3c PB2 (regular or chocolate flavor)

1/4c chia seeds

1 T vanilla extract

2 packets stevia

1-2 T honey

1/2c PB or almond butter

handful of cacao nibs, optional

2 scoops chocolate pea protein powder or powder of choice

**water

1. Toss everything into a food processor except for the water. Process until everything is ground up, it should still be crumbly. Add water one TBSP at a time while the processor is running until it forms into a dough and sticks together.

104_1167

2. Press the dough evenly into an 8×8 pan that is greased or lined with parchment paper. Freeze for about an hour before cutting into bars ( I made 8 2in x 4in bars).

104_1170

3. Enjoy your creation! These barz can be stored in the freezer for as long as they last! (Which might not be very long ๐Ÿ™‚ )

 

104_1173

What are some ways that you add extra protein to your diet? What are some of your healthy indulgences? I love getting your feedback!

Thanks for reading,

Lauren ๐Ÿ™‚

One response »

Leave a Reply

