Hellooo!

Gallery

Hello friends! I have been so bad at making time to blog. Between exams,  the end of school, moving home, and working, I have just been lazy. I’ll admit it. But I have really missed blogging and I am finally inspired enough to sit down and write about my thoughts.

Now that school is out, I have had time to start reading again (for pleasure) and I chose this book by Kyle Idleman called Gods at War. Its all about the possible idols in our lives and how we can identify them so that they can be defeated and replaced by the one true God. While I really like it so far, its a hard book to read. Reading it is like cleaning a toilet; you cringe and wrinkle your nose as you scrub off remnants of who-knows-what from around the bowl, but you still put on a pair of elbow-length rubber gloves to do it because it needs done.  It shows me what idols that I hold in my heart, sometimes higher than God. Most of the idols that are worshiped in our society are good gifts from God, like food, money and sex. Its when these topics become our obsession and our purpose in life that these things become our gods.

As humans, we were created to worship something. While God intended it to be him, he also gave us free reign. We are faced every day with so many temptations that can lead us away or distract us from God. Even watching too much T.V. can become an idol because it takes away time between you and God. Our idols and God are always at war for our hearts, our attention, our soul.

But we also need to remember that God is a jealous God. He loves us so much that he sent his son to save us (John 3:16) even though we screw up everyday. Idols don’t love like that. They don’t love us at all and will always leave us wanting more, and we will never be satisfied.

So I was walking my dog, Lady, today as usual. She likes to sniff around and eat things that she shouldn’t (super-gross) and gets easily distracted. All I need her to do is go outside, pee/poo/both, and then come back inside to get a treat (yay!). But for some reason we have to walk around our entire property (2.5 acres) and smell everything first. As she was tugging on the 16-ft leash just to see how much farther she could reach, I had to laugh. How often do I sniff around, get distracted, and tug on the leash that God has got on me? Its not a bad leash, its meant to keep us safe (and out of the neighbor’s yard), but I know that I do the exact same thing to God. I like to sniff around and observe the world around me. When I tug on my leash, I usually think that I have found something that might be more exciting than following God that day. If I don’t discipline myself and refocus on God, then whatever I have found has the potential of becoming an idol.  Its so hard to admit but it happens to everyone, and everyone should try to find where that happens in their life so that they can fix it.  God has plans for us and nothing should ever come before him and his great plan. I feel like that friend who tells you that you have a booger in your nose. I wouldn’t want you to be embarrassed by it, so I tell you. I feel like I should share this with you, too.

So try to take a look at your life today. What topics consume most of your thoughts? What is the first thing you think about in the morning, and the last thing at night? The toilet will be nasty to clean, but you’ll be so glad you did it.

And I think you gotta booger…right there…

Lauren 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

