2013…it Ain’t the End

Gallery

To begin, this week hasn’t been the best for my family. Yesterday we had to make the hard and terrible decision to put our golden retriever, Dukey, to sleep. Over the past 6 months, the tumor on his jaw had grown to the size of a softball, and cancer had metastasized throughout his whole body. His strong and healthy build had changed to very boney and frail. He couldn’t get up by himself to go to the bathroom and to eat. Once this break was over and my mom and brother went back to school, there wouldn’t have been anyone home to take care of him when he needed us. He rests peacefully now, and we don’t have to watch him suffer any longer. I still expect to see him every morning laying in the entry way, but it is an absence we will all have to work through. Animals become a part of our lives so quickly, and our time with them is short. Pet your pets for me today!

Also, Happy New Year! 2014 is in full swing now, and I haven’t done anything yet. Lol! I spent the new year home with my parents watching movies and The Food Network. Last year at this time, I wouldn’t have been okay with that. I wanted to go have fun with my friends and stay up way past midnight with them. This year, I realized that my New Years Eves with my family are numbered, and someday I will be spending them with other people in my life. As a family, we went to the local Mexican restaurant (no cooking or clean up) and then watched Despicable Me 2. I wouldn’t have had it any other way! My little brother went to a friend’s house after dinner, and while I missed him here, I totally understand. He would have been bored out of his mind here. My dad went to bed at about 10, my mom fell asleep in the chair, and I flipped back and forth between Chopped and Dick Clark’s New Year’s Eve show. Once the ball dropped, I went to bed! See, if I would have been at someone else’s house, I wouldn’t have been able to just zonk out at 12:15 so, bonus!

A lot of people make New Year’s resolutions, which I have done before. I really don’t even remember any of them that I have made in the past, showing that they really weren’t all that important to me. I always work out and eat healthy most of the time, so a resolution in that area would not really be that life altering. This year I want to focus on doing MORE of everything that I love. More God time, more service, more time with friends, more relaxing, more fun, more family time, more love, patience, and persistence in whatever God lays in front of me.

Time flies by in this life, and when I look back on 2013, I wonder if I really did anything that was all that important. We are here for a purpose, and that is to serve God and be His hands here on Earth. Did I do enough of that? That is the area that I need more of. I get so wrapped up in school that I don’t make a lot of extra time for God outside of devotions and church when I can. If our true purpose in this life is to serve God, then it needs to be my #1 priority. I will have good days and bad days as I pursue this, but God will guide me through it.

Shout out to “The Well” girls! I miss you all and I cannot wait to get started again for 2014! You all mean so much to me, and I have missed our fellowship and time together over break. See you soon!

The rest of my winter break will be spent  relaxing with my family, watching T.V., and sleeping in because my lazy days are numbered. Soon I will move back into my cold dorm (that has no hot water!!) and begin the second half of my sophomore year in college. I am bummed to leave home, but also excited to get it started since it holds many new and exciting things! For example, I will be spending my spring break in Myrtle Beach with all my buddies, yay! It will be chilly, but it wont be Ohio! Also, my roommate and I got tickets to a Demi Lovato concert (her fav!) and we will get to do that together. It is the first big concert that I have ever been to and I am so stoked to go with her. She goes to concerts all the time, so she will know all the ins and outs of the deal. Mostly, I just wanted to do something fun with her before she graduates and leaves me! 😦 Finding a new roommate is also on my list of things that I DONT want to do. I already had her trained…sorry Dana lol.

So I am wishing you a blessed, safe, and renewing 2014! Keep your life balanced with all of the things that you love with God in the center, and you will not be disappointed. Let us not forget God’s promise to us…

“For God so loved the world, that he gave his one and only son, so that whoever believes in him, shall not perish and have everlasting life.”-John 3:16

Thanks for reading 🙂

Lauren

2 responses »

  1. I always love a good read! 1) because I am not a reader 2) I do care about friends in my life and the stories that they tell! God will bless you and reward you for your efforts, and if your not sure about that pray some more! P.U.S.H. …….. pray until something happens!!

Leave a Reply

