Mmmm Sweet Potato Muffins!

Gallery

So I have been doing a lot of baking over my lovely winter break from school, and I have been experimenting with flourless recipes. Since I am gluten intolerant, the holidays don’t involve a lot of sweet indulgences like cakes, cookies, and pies for me. Really that’s okay because then I don’t gain a bazillion pounds over the holidays, but I do really like desserts…a lot.

In response to that limitation and my sweet tooth, I bake a lot of weird stuff! And it tastes pretty good! (Most of the time.) My family ends up serving as my guinea pigs, but I think that they are okay with that. I always try to make my recipes healthy, and since I like to workout and lift weights and junk, adding protein to all of my meals is pretty important.

My goals for this concoction were that they had to be healthy(ish) and guilt-free, contain a good amount of protein, be gluten-free and TASTE GOOD!! Because eating food isn’t fun if it doesn’t taste yummy, let’s be honest.

Using chickpeas makes the muffins more dense and gooey. When mixed with the sweet potato puree (my best friend), it keeps the muffins moist. Gooey + moist = YUMM! Oat flour is a dense flour made from just grinding down oatmeal. It also has 7 grams of protein per 1/3 cup! The protein and fiber from the chickpeas and the oat flour packs a mean punch, making these muffins double as a treat or as breakfast!

The sweetness comes from maple syrup, erythritol, stevia, and applesauce (if you add it). I was never one for artificial sweeteners, and if you want to use regular sugar in this recipe, go for it! I just like that these natural sweeteners are calorie-free and keep the sugar content low. Erythritol is a natural sweetener derived from various plants, fruits, fungi, and mushrooms! It has a low glycemic index and it doesn’t contribute to tooth decay (bonus!). Erythritol is actually 70% LESS sweet than regular sugar, and it works better in baking when mixed with other sugars and sweeteners, hence the maple syrup and stevia. This is a good thing to know if you want to experiment with erythritol in your own baking! While the maple syrup and applesauce is not calorie-free, it is still natural and good for me :).

Sweet Potato Muffins:

  • 1 15oz. can chickpeas, drained
  • 2/3c. sweet potato puree
  • 1c. oat flour
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4c. pure maple syrup
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. each of ground cloves and allspice
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/4c. Erythritol
  • 1 pk. Stevia
  • 1/4c. chocolate chips of your choice, optional
  • **4oz. of applesauce- if you want a sweeter, thinner battersweet potato muffins

Preheat the oven to 350F, and grease/line a muffin tin with muffin paper cups.

First, drain the chickpeas and toss them into a food processor. This whole recipe is blended in a processor, which makes for easy clean up and no stirring (yay!). Next, add in the sweet potato, egg, maple syrup, and the optional applesauce. Run the food processor with all the wet ingredients until it’s smooth, scraping the sides of the bowl when needed.

sweet potato muffins

Add in the dry ingredients: oat flour, baking powder, cinnamon, ground cloves, allspice, Erythritol, and stevia. Run the processor until the mixture is all incorporated, then add the chocolate chips (nuts, raisins, etc.) and pulse a couple times. (Batter tasting is optional…I’m not afraid of a raw egg!)

Spoon the mixture into the muffin tins! Despite the baking powder, these muffins don’t rise a lot, so you can fill the cups to the size that you want them. Mine were about 2/3-3/4 full.

sweet potato muffins-baking

Bake for 20-22 minutes, they should be done when a toothpick comes out clean! Top with jam, jelly, butter, apple butter, peanut butter, or whatever butter you fancy! This recipe made 15 muffins. There probably would have been 16 if I wouldn’t have eaten so much batter…:)

These muffins met my goals of being healthy, gluten-free, high in protein and tasty! They have 107 calories per muffin(with applesauce) and contain 4g of protein! That’s a treat I can feel good about, and will nourish my body in a positive way while still indulging my sweet tooth. 🙂 I believe that we should never deprive ourselves of what we love because we deserve healthy, happy, balanced lives.

sweet potato muffins-done

Thanks for reading!

Lauren 🙂

“Therefore, I urge you, brothers, in view of God’s mercy, to offer your bodies as living sacrifices, holy and pleasing to God—this is your spiritual act of worship.” – Romans 12:1

Leave a Reply

